August 28, 2019

Napa, CA – The Napa County Farm Bureau announced today their cannabis opposition campaign has been suspended after Measure J proponents today withdrew their initiative from the March 3, 2020 ballot.

Last week, the Board of Supervisors voted to place the initiative on the ballot rather than adopt it as an ordinance.  This decision came after a review of a comprehensive analysis (9111 Report) on the ballot initiative. Subsequently, the Farm Bureau immediately announced it would launch an opposition campaign to defeat the initiative in the March election.

“We are extremely pleased to see that the Measure J proponents have decided to officially withdraw their initiative from the March ballot. The Napa County Farm Bureau takes its political leadership role very seriously and we were ready to do everything necessary to defeat the initiative,” said Ryan Klobas, Chief Executive Officer of the Napa County Farm Bureau. “We believe this is not an issue that the Board of Supervisors needs to take up now given other priorities such as fire recovery and housing. The prudent way to govern and create priorities at the county right now is to follow the county’s recently adopted strategic plan and commercial cannabis cultivation never ranked anywhere as an issue.”

“We are happy to see that this bad piece of public policy has been removed from the ballot,” said Johnnie White, President of the Napa County Farm Bureau. “We stand ready to continue to advocate for our members’ best interests and believe the county should understand that cannabis is not a priority.”

The initiative would have allowed cannabis cultivation on up to 1-acre of land on a minimum 10-acre parcel within the Agricultural Preserve (AP) and Agricultural Watershed (AW) zoning districts, which encompasses most of the unincorporated land in the county.  According to the 9111 report, there are more than 4,000 10 acre+ parcels in Napa County. Both indoor and outdoor grows would have been authorized without public review if the initiative were to be enacted by voters in the March 2020 election.